jump to navigation

Show the date in Natty’s Unity December 13, 2010

Posted by jdstrand in ubuntu.
trackback

By default in Unity on Natty the clock only shows the time but doesn’t provide a GUI method to display the date. Since I never seem to know the date, and only sometimes the day, I like to have my clock display these to me. This is bug #601974. The quick fix:

$ gsettings set org.ayatana.indicator.datetime show-date true
$ gsettings set org.ayatana.indicator.datetime show-day true

Since this was my first foray into gsettings, I figured I’d also post how I figured this out. First I looked at the output of:

$ gsettings help

Then I drilled down until I found what I needed:

$ gsettings list-schemas|grep datetime
org.ayatana.indicator.datetime
$ gsettings list-keys org.ayatana.indicator.datetime
custom-time-format
show-date
show-day
show-seconds
time-format

$ gsettings get org.ayatana.indicator.datetime show-date
false
$ gsettings set org.ayatana.indicator.datetime show-date true
$ gsettings get org.ayatana.indicator.datetime show-date
true

I filed bug #689722 to request exposing this via the GUI.

Update: dconf-editor from dconf-tools can be used to edit gsettings in a graphical way (like gconf-editor for gconf). Thanks to mdeslaur for pointing this out! :)

Update: The gsettings path moved to /com/canonical/indicator/datetime in recent indicator-datetime versions. See bug #717318 for details.

Comments»

1. Bryce Harrington - February 12, 2011

Wow, thanks Jamie, that’s been bugging me since I upgraded.

2. Timothy Kross - February 13, 2011

Following the recent change, the correct commands are:
$ gsettings set com.canonical.indicator.datetime show-date true
$ gsettings set com.canonical.indicator.datetime show-day true

Frans - March 12, 2012

I’d also add gsettings set com.canonical.indicator.datetime show-seconds true. I like seconds. ;)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

